Home / Airline Service Review / Airline Service Review: EOS Airlines (EO1) London-Stansted, England (STN) to New York-JFK, Queens NY (JFK)

Airline Service Review: EOS Airlines (EO1) London-Stansted, England (STN) to New York-JFK, Queens NY (JFK)

EO1/23Oct2005
London-Stansted, England (STN) to New York-JFK, Queens NY (JFK)
N926JS | Boeing 757-200ER

 

London, England

I was up at the crack of dawn (well not quite as the sun came up about 7:15 a.m. or so) so that I could head out to Liverpool Street Station. I had no idea what time was the train, but I figured that if I got there for about 8 a.m. there should be a train within 15 minutes. I arrived at the station about 7:51 a.m. just in time to buy a 14.20 GBP ticket for the 8:00 a.m. train to Stansted airport.

This train is an Express service, although it makes three stops before arriving there in about 45 minutes time.

London-Stansted, England (STN)

I took a leisurely walk upstairs to the terminal and located my flight on the board. I was in check-in area K at the end of the terminal. I walked over and checked in with the other passengers that had arrived as well.

Check-in was smooth and a very pleasant experience. I was given an invitation to the EOS Lounge that overlooked the departure gate. With my Lounge invitation, I had access to the Fast Track lane and boy did I need it as the lines were quite long. Within minutes I was through security and on my way to the Lounge at gate 7.

Once near the gate, I saw signs point to the EOS Lounge.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Walkway to Lounge
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Walkway to Lounge

 

I was greeted by a hostess who ushered me in and told me that boarding would start at about 9:45 a.m. I took a seat and put away my stuff. I was immediately approached by a server who offered me breakfast treats which included coffee, tea, pastry, juices and fruits. The lounge is very nice and I do like the colors and the layout, it also had some current magazines and brochures on EOS.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Entrance to Lounge
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Entrance to Lounge

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Poster outside Lounge
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Poster outside Lounge
EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Lounge Food
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Lounge Food

 

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Inside the Lounge
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Inside the Lounge

 

The Plane

The airplane was already at the gate and of course I too the opportunity to take some photos.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - The airplane at the gate
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – The airplane at the gate

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - The airplane at the gate
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – The airplane at the gate

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - The airplane at the gate
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – The airplane at the gate

 

Boarding

As I boarded, I was greeted and shown to my seat and had offers to assist me with my luggage (I had my backpack and a computer bag) as well as to take my jacket. Being ushered to my seat and waited on is quite good and I felt special. I’ve only been ushered to my seat once; I was flying Korean Airlines from Seoul to Manila and scored the First Class upgrade.

I was offered a choice of three pre-departure cocktails with a packet of almonds wrapped in plastic with a bow. The drink choices included the Maserati as the menu stated; I chose the Maserati and was not disappointed.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Pre-departure drink in Stanstead
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Pre-departure drink in Stanstead

The cabin is a 2-2 configuration with only 48 seats; I was in row 7. The aircraft is one that has no Exit rows over the wing, so no seat space was lost. I like the configuration and I did not feel claustrophobic at all for a single aisle airplane. I think the colors have a lot to do with that. There is ample space to walk in the aisle.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Cabin
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Cabin

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Cabin
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Cabin

I was offered an amenity kit as well as slippers; my black EOS-logoed kit had a toothbrush, Rembrandt toothpaste, ear plugs, L’Occitane en Provence lip balm, L’Occitane en Provence hand cream, hair brush, le Brumisateur evian eau Minerale Naturelle, tissue and smints. Shaving cream and a razor was available on request from the flight attendants.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Slipper and amenity kit
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Slipper and amenity kit

I had a window seat, so I passed by the aisle seat without having to pass by anyone. This is a huge plus not having to step over anyone to get out of your window seat. Not having to sit backwards is another plus; sitting backwards on a plane just seems weird.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Cabin
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Cabin

The seat is a lie-flat seat with controls to adjust the back and the foot rest. Include in the seat is also an Empower plug that takes your regular plug without an adapter. There is also a reading light on the back of your seat.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Lie flat seet
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Lie flat seat

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Lie flat seet
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Lie flat seat

In front of your seat is an ottoman; this is actually the seat for your dinner guest as well as the rest of your bed when you extend the seat fully. The table folds out into a double table so that you can accommodate your dinner guest. The little stool is quite cute (if you can call a stool cute). I did try it out and my flight attendant thought I was having too much fun. I do think legs may get entangles though, but maybe passengers may want that :-).

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - View from the Ottoman
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – View from the Ottoman

I was also presented a menu with the day’s offering; I chose the seafood plate along with a glass of wine for after takeoff. I was asked what time I wanted to eat and I said right after takeoff as I knew I’d want to go to sleep. This is similar to Virgin Atlantic’s Freedom service so I was quite tickled.

Main Menu

Apertif
Champagne Cocktail
Canapees varies

Dinner
Appetizer
Italian Mixed Antipasti
Grilled Vegetables with Goat Cheese

Main Course
Fillet of Beef
Served with grilled polenta and green beans rolled in bacon

Skipped DO & CO
Fillet of Salmon, Fillet of Sole, Prawn

Asparagus Risotto
With homemade Parmesan Cracker

Cheese & Dessert
Selection of Cheeses

Chocolate Praline Soufflé
Served with hot chocolate sauce and Vanilla Parfait

Coffee Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta

Afternoon Tea Service
Served 90 minutes before landing

Champagne
Lanson Black Label Brut

Teas
English Breakfast Tea
Earl Grey
Decaf

Assorted Tea Sandwiches
Cheese Cake
Fresh Fruit Bowl
Scones
Strawberry Jam
Clotted Cream

Upon Request
Snack Service

Mini bagels with cream cheese & Salmon

Assorted open face sandwiches (New York bound flights only)

Midnight Snack
(London Bound only)

Tea sandwiches
Selection of wraps

It was departure time soon, and we departed after our security demo by the crew. We had no delays for takeoff and were airborne in no time. Of course, like almost all U.K. airports there were spotters along the length of the runway; always nice to see.

After takeoff, we were offered an in-flight entertainment system, which is really built around a personal computer. You are in total control with this touch screen system. You may also use controls on the keyboard part of the unit. This was accompanied by a Bosé noise cancelling headset. There is a plethora of entertainment choices.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Entertainment System and Bose Headphones
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Entertainment System and Bose Headphones

 

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Entertainment System
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Entertainment System

New Release Movies
Monster-in-Law
A lot of Like Love
The Interpreter
The Longest Yard
Mr. and Mrs. Smith

In Tribute to Anne Bancroft
The Producers
The Graduates
84 Charing Cross Road

In Tribute to Ishmael Merchant
Jefferson in Paris
Remains of the Day

A Tribeca Tribute
Shakespeare in Love
Bullets Over Broadway
Play It Again, Sam

A Notting Hill Tribute
About a Boy
Notting Hill
Four Weddings & a Funeral

NYTV
The Honeymooners – TV or not TV
Taxi – Like Father Like Daughter
CSI New York – Blink
Everybody Loves Raymond

Sherlocks, Shamuses, & Sleuths
Sherlock Holms: A Scandal in Bohemia
Poirot: The Adventure of Captain Cook
Inspector Morse: The Wolvercote Tongue
Agatha Christie’s Marple: The Body in the Library
Fallen Angels: Love and Blood
Fallen Angels: Tomorrow I Die
Fallen Angels: Good Housekeeping
Fallen Angels: Red Wing

Additional Television Selections
The Office: Diversity Day
Friends: Hot Girl
Cheers – Thanksgiving
Cheers – Christmas

Music
HitPix – 22 selections
Memory Lane – 21 selections
Latin Beat – 11 selections
In the Club – 5 selections
Blue Notes – 11 selections
Mellow Mood – 16 selections
Classical – 11 selections
Big Country – 11 selections

Music Videos
Pop
American Baby – Dave Matthews Band
Sometimes – U2
Since You’ve Been Gone – Kelly Clarkson
Giving You Up – Kyle Minogue
Into Everything – Telopopmusik
Rock
Why Do You Love Me – Garbage
Holiday – Green Day
Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani
Jazz/Blues/R&B
Just A Lil Bit – 50 Cent
Don’t Phunk With My Heart – Black eyed Peas
Games
Casino
Blackjack
Broke Banker’s Video Poker
Puzzle
Block Brain Teaser
Jungle Toe (Tic-Tac-Toe)
Sports
Mini Golf
Action
Turkey Dinner
Space Fighter
Far West

Survey

My lunch service started with the appetizer, followed by the main course; I skipped the cheese and crackers service and went straight to the dessert; nice. All the time I had offers of bread and more drinks than I could consume.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Appetizer
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Appetizer

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Canapé and white whine
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Canapé and white wine

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Eaten dinner
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Eaten dinner

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Dessert
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Dessert

Of course I was tired now and my flight attendant came by and asked me if I wanted her to make my bed. I was a little taken back, but then said yes. This was the highlight of my trip; I had never flown a lie-flat seat before, so I have nothing to compare EOS’. With that being said though, I slept well; for the first time since flying, I slept on my side, I’ve always slept on my back (as that position is the most comfortable) when flying. I am a stomach sleeper normally.

I awoke about 3.5 hours later feeling really rested and in time for my arrival snack of scones, sandwiches and more drinks including afternoon tea.

Unfortunately, I did sleep through the mid-flight meal, but I saw them preparing it and it looked quite good.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - Arrival Snack
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – Arrival Snack

The crew was quite good and very attentive.

Soon, we started to our descent and landed on the runway next to the cargo facility. We arrived ontime at Terminal 4. The arrival time of 1:30 p.m. is great as our flight was the only one using the facility at the time. At the gates were Air Jamaica’s A340, Aer Lingus’ A330 and El Al Boeing 747-400.

 

EOS Flight 1 - 23 Oct 2005 - in JFK
EOS Flight 1 – 23 Oct 2005 – in JFK

All in all, this was a great flight and I’d definitely fly them again.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Top